Dec.01, 2021


the beginning of it all…..


Mats Gustafsson (reeds and flutes),


Sten Sandell (piano),


Raymond Strid (drums)



The members of GUSH are extremely well matched: the group includes three of the Swedish Improv scene´s leading performers, Mats Gustafsson (reeds), Sten Sandell (piano), Raymond Strid (drums). While essentially an example of trio improvising, the longest piece, ”Any warranty Of”, also offers the chance to hear Gustafsson and Sandell produce persuasive solo contributions…. Strids drumming is never less than brilliant fleet, yet somehow restrained, spacious, and alive with tiny metallic nuances. Authoritative collective improvising you cant afford to miss.” Chris Blackford, Wire Mag.


“Surprise is an element that keeps movement on edge, but there is something more. It comes in the way the three understand each other and how they pick up the mental thread that each unravels. Perhaps it comes from having been together since 1988. Yet, to their credit, time has not staled their impulses. Creativity is still ripe. And it is in that that their music bristles and stirs the senses.” All about Jazz


“Gush, a Swedish trio…There are of course many moments where the music is a delight, working at its highest level, serving if you will as an appetizer to other performances.” Coda Magazine



GUSH has collaborated with Sofia Jernberg, Paul Lovens, Barry Guy, Günther Christmann, Sven-Åke Johansson, Phil Wachsmann, Christine Abdelnour, Anders Nyqvist and much more….



International Festivals:

Ulrichberg Kaleidophon, Bochum Ruhr Jazz Festival Aachen Eurigo Tage ,Berlin Workshop Freie Musik, Nickelsdorf Konfrontationen ,Vancouver Jazz Festival ,

Tampere Jazz Happening, Festival Internacional de Novas Músicas, Guarda, Portugal


Selective recordings with GUSH: From Things To Sounds…. (Dragon DRCD 204, 1991) Gush med Sven-Åke Johansson, Tjo och Tjim (Dragon Rec DRLP 192,1991), Live at Fasching (DRCD 313, 1997) Gushwachs with Phil Wachsmann (Bead 002, 1997), Live in Tampere (Dragon 1999), Norrköping (ALP161CD, 2005)





Blow Out! Oslo –

Live at Kaleidophon Ulrichsberg, Austria –